FMCSA Provides Exemption to Drivers due to Hurricane Barry

blank image
15 Jul 2019

FMCSA has release a Declaration and exemption from Parts 390 to 399 for drivers hauling relief loads due to Hurricane Barry.

The exemption includes the following states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky,
Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee and Texas.

The Declaration states: “This Emergency Declaration provides for regulatory relief for commercial motor vehicle operations while providing direct assistance supporting emergency relief efforts transporting supplies, equipment, fuel and persons into and from the Affected States or providing other assistance in the form of emergency services during the emergency in the Affected States from Tropical Cyclone 2. Direct assistance terminates when a driver or commercial motor vehicle is used in interstate commerce to transport cargo or provide services not directly supporting the emergency relief effort or when the motor carrier dispatches a driver or commercial motor vehicle to another location to begin operations in commerce. ”

Read the full exemption Declaration hereEmergency Declaration 7.11.19